My Process: The road to opportunity

Image result for process

 

Recently, I’ve applied for a position I’ve been seeking for a while within my company.  I worked within this department on a temporary basis at the beginning of 2016, but this position would be full time within that same department.

Here’s the challenge, though:  This particular position within the department is one where my experience is a little bit deficient compared to other candidates.  That’s probably understating it.  The other candidates have far more experience and practice in this particular field than I do.

I do have one thing going for me though.  A process. When I worked part time in the department, I developed a process for achieving results.  I spent some time crafting the process, and then a ton of effort adhering to that process over and over.  I owe virtually all of my successful results to that pattern.

Even though my credentials for this particular position are inferior to other applicants, current members of the department told me after interviewing that my process alone is enough to make me a strong candidate independent of my lack of experience.

Honestly, I’m not even sure if I’ll get the job or what that will look like.  But I’ve learned that simply having a process and disciplining myself to follow it generates results and opportunity.

 

Leave a Reply

